By A. H. Lloyd
Publisher: Cambridge University Press
Print Publication Year:2010
Online Publication Date:October 2010
Original Publication Year:1934
Subjects: British history 1066-1450 , British history after 1450
First published in 1934, this book is a history of Christ's College, Cambridge, from its foundation in 1437, through its relocation to its current site, up to the charter of 1505. The original college, founded by parochial rector William Byngham, was named God's House and occupied a site which is now part of King's College. It was given its first royal licence in 1446 and moved to its present site in 1448. The college received its present name and charter when it was refounded in 1505 by Lady Margaret Beaufort, the mother of King Henry VII. This book recounts the history of Christ's during this period, using archival evidence and illustrations to offer a fascinating picture of the less well known early stages of the college's development.
No references available.